North American Tour

A bit of catch-up needed:

Day 1: A nice ride in sunny weather to Hackensack, NJ, where we stayed the night with Steve’s cousins. They have a great apartment on the 17th floor, I think-it’s about as large as some houses I lived-in!  And they have 3 cats, so I got my “cat fix” for awhile.

They took us on a driving tour of Manhattan, which was really interesting. Plus, we walked about halfway across the Brooklyn Bridge. After that, we went to an Argentinian restaurant. A little walk to get there, since parking is scarce, to say the least!

Day 2: After a breakfast of bialis & lox, we left for Canada. Another sunny day, riding through NJ, NY, Connecticut, New Hampshire, & Vermont, then into Canada. It was a long day. I found myself fighting sleep-how to stay awake? I found that the secret for me is to remember the lyrics of old songs that are in my memory bank. So, I sang alot of favorite songs from the 50’s & 60’s. I must say, I sound really good inside my helmet!!!

Our friends live in Cookshire-Eton, in Quebec, in an older home filled with antiques & hand-painted objects done by our friend, José.

Day 3: Spent packing & getting ready for the trip north to their fishing camp. Everything was packed into a big Ford truck, plus a trailer carrying 2 4-wheelers, plus assorted generators, propane tanks, etc.

Day 4: We drove until afternoon, a little more than halfway & we stayed in a motel in Matawa (home of the Dionne quintuplets, for those old enough to remember!)

******to be continued*****Image

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Abby
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 19:22:52

    Hi there!! Enjoying your blog! Glad you guys are having good time.

    Hope to talk to you soon! ~Abby

    Reply

Leave a Reply

